

Recognition Night! These individuals were recognized by the Board of Education on Tuesday night!

Honorees were nominated by colleagues and organizations.

Certificates were presented by School Board President Jennifer Michalec,
Vice President Michael Franey, and Superintendent Dan Pacos.



Senior Lauren Smith, center right, was recognized for her work as Student Representative to the Board of Education during the 2023-24 school year, and for receiving a Shea's High School Music Theater All-Star Cast Award.



School Board members Michael Franey and Kathleen Chiavetta, center, and Arlene DeJoy-Meckes, not present, were recognized for several awards:

ECASB Awards:

Kathleen Chiavetta and **Michael Franey,** Rising Star Award, and **Michael Franey,** Lorie Sabo Advocacy Award

NYSSBA Awards:

Arlene DeJoy-Meckes, Level 1 Board Achievement Award **Michael Franey,** Level 3 Board Mastery Award **Kathleen Chiavetta,** Lifetime Achievement Award

WNY Educational Service Council Award:

Kathleen Chiavetta, Award for Excellence in Board of Education Leadership

Recent Instructional Staff Retirees ...

Their combined years of service equal nearly 162 years! Honored, but not present for photo:

Deborah Anderson, School Psychologist, approximately 33 years; **Barbara Blasz,** Special Education, approximately 22 years; **Brian Kelley,** School Counselor, 28 years; **Peggy Koch,** Reading, 20 years; **Michael Linn,** Technology Education, 28 years; **Mary Mullins,** Elementary Education, approximately 31 years.



Recent Non-Instructional Staff Retirees ...

Their combined years of service equal approximately 111
years! Bus Driver Steven Smith, center right, was present.

Patricia Austin, Bus Driver, 32 years; Susan Huber, Senior Clerk Typist, approximately 26 years; Leslie Iler, Bus Driver, approximately 25 years; Steven Smith, Bus Driver, approximately six years; James Will, Laborer, approximately 16 years; Sheryl Zielonka, Registered Professional Nurse, approximately six years.

Recognitions continued on next page ...

June 11, 2024 Personnel Actions

The Board of Education approved the ...

appointment of ...

Kathleen Chiavetta to fill the vacancy on the Board of Education created by the resignation of Arlene DeJoy-Meckes, with a term to commence upon the filing of the oath of office and continuing until the Board's next regular school district election, which is scheduled for May 20, 2025.



Probationary appointment of ... Matthew Poole, Social Studies, effective 8/28/24.

Resignations of ...

Roy Dieter, Bus Driver, effective 5/29/24. **Jane Burzynski,** Public Relations, effective 7/12/2024.

Recognitions Continued ...



Recent Tenure Appointments ...

With their certificates, from left, are: **Kelly Reigle,** School Psychologist; **Julie Wilkins, Speech Therapist; Priscilla Steinert,** Elementary Education; **Evan Koehler,** Physical Education, and **Deanna Civilette,** Music. Not present: **Elissa Genco,** Elementary Education.



Global Education Award

Lake Shore High School was presented with the 2024 EF High School Exchange Year's Global Education Award. *Front, from left:* Dr. Katy Berner-Wallen, High School Principal; student Aitana Otero Vazquez, from Spain; Linda Broderick, host mom; student Sina Mayer, from Germany.

Back, from left: Jennifer Michalec, Board President; Mary Keller, International Exchange Coordinator; Stanley Broderick, host dad; Michael Franey, Board of Education Vice President, and Dan Pacos, Superintendent.



E-NSSA Scholastic
Achievement Honorees
Samson Bayer, Salutatorian, was present as the
Board recognized the
E-NSSA Scholastic Achievement honorees, which also included Megan Strickler,
Valedictorian, and Cierra
Bluff, 3rd Honors.



NYSPHSAA Gymnastics All Around and Uneven Bars State Champion Emma Langdon was recognized for this distinctive achievement.



The Board recognized the NYSPHSAA's Honorable Mention Fall 2023 Scholar Athletes: Samson Bayer, Boys Volleyball; Maya Bauer, Cross Country; Rhianna Bibeau, Girls Soccer; Cierra Bluff, Girls Swimming; Brayden Budziszewski, Football; Victoria Cherry, Girls Tennis; Drake Connors, Boys Volleyball; Mya Dalton, Girls Soccer; Josephine DeJoy, Girls Swimming; Dakota Familo, Girls Swimming; Morgan Gengler, Girls Volleyball; Olivia Gleason, Girls Soccer; Delaney Glose, Girls Volleyball; Brooke Hamm, Girls Soccer; Jake Hopkins, Football; Morgan Huff, Girls Volleyball; Elizabeth Jarzynski, Girls Volleyball; Mariah Joslyn, Girls Volleyball; Troy Kennedy, Football; Emma Langdon, Gymnastics; Joseph Lovett, Football; Kennedy Masullo, Girls Soccer; Alexander Maurer, Football; Alexxis Mazzu, Cheerleading; Morgan Murphy, Cheerleading; Jacella Nephew, Girls Volleyball; London Nickolai, Cross Country; Ava Pericak, Girls Soccer, Mileah Pinelli, Girls Soccer, Alexis Saar, Girls Volleyball, Olivia Sannes, Girls Swimming, Lauren Smith, Cheerleading, Megan Strickler, Girls Swimming, Faith Vela, Girls Swimming, Miya Wardlaw, Girls Soccer; Brooke Wholf, Girls Volleyball...



AND the NYSPHSAA 2024 Winter Scholar Athletes:

Jackson Horning, Boys Bowling; **Elizabeth Jarzynski,** Girls Basketball, and **Brooke Wholf,** Girls Bowling.

Recognitions continued on next page ...

Recognitions Continued ...



Also recognized were the HONORABLE MENTION NYSPHSAA 2024 Winter Scholar Athletes:

Maya Bauer, Indoor Track; Morgan Gengler, Girls Bowling; Delaney Glose, Girls Basketball; Mariah Joslyn, Girls Basketball; Alexander Maurer, Boys Basketball, and Morgan Murphy, Cheerleading.

IN ADDITION, the NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete Teams were announced:

FALL: Girls Swimming and Diving, Boys Soccer, Cheerleading, Boys Cross Country Girls Cross Country, Girls Volleyball

WINTER: Boys Swimming and Diving, Cheerleading, Girls Basketball, Boys Basketball, Girls Indoor Track, Boys Indoor Track, Girls Bowling, Boys Bowling

SPRING: Baseball, Softball, Boys Tennis, Boys Outdoor Track, Girls Outdoor Track



SAANYS Recognition

Transportation Supervisor **Perry Oddi** was recognized for his designation as "Supervisor of the Year" by the School Administrators Association of New York State.



WNY Library Resources Council Grant

Tracy Wing, Library Media Specialist, was recognized for her success in getting the "Diversity in Collections Grant" for A.J. Schmidt Elementary School







Teresa Cybulski, Lisa O'Connor, and Billy VanRemmen, were recognized for their outstanding volunteer efforts on behalf of J.T. Waugh Elementary School's 5th Grade Outdoor Education Program.

Also recognized were:

Melissa Villa, Elementary Teacher and LSCTA Building Rep at J.T. Waugh Elementary School, who received the NYSUT Local Leadership Award for union service and advocacy.

Kimberly Cassidy, Physical Therapist, for her "phenomenal" work!

The Board of Education and District Office Administrators
extend their deep appreciation
to ALL District employees and Personal Touch
employees for their hard work and dedication
to our students, parents, school-community, and fellow
colleagues during the 2023-24 school year!



-30-

In journalism, -30— traditionally marks the end of a story. This past year, two seniors, Travis Bernhard and London Nickolai, contributed much to the District's Facebookpage, web site, and News & Notes. They were joined by sophomore Bailey Burke who, after an afternoon job shadow with Jane Burzynski in the PR office, returned every week. The Travis, London, and Bailey volunteer PR team covered multiple events before, during, and after school. Travis and London both move on to SUNY Fredonia this fall. Travis will major in photography and London will major in digital production. Bailey will enter her junior year at Lake Shore with some great PR experience.

Although it's time to put a -30- on this chapter, their larger stories are still unfolding! Many thanks to them. Peace and out.

- Jane Burzynski, APR